Chapter 3.05

appaloosa recreation center; three months later

Screenshot-5

“Bahumbug,” Anakin complained loudly. My twin crossed his arms, his mouth set in a deep scowl.

“What’s the matter, pumpkin?” Aunt Lane asked. “I thought you liked bowling!”

Screenshot-7

“Yes, but it’s 8 in the morning,” Anakin said.

“The perfect time for family bonding!” Uncle Alistair declared, his hands clasped in front of his chest. Behind him, Aunt Lane mirrored the gesture, and I smiled to see them so close together. When I grew up, I hoped I would marry someone who made me as happy as Uncle Alistair and Aunt Lane seemed to be. Screenshot-9

“Rey, you like bowling, right?” Uncle Alistair said, turning to me.

I chanced a quick glance at my twin. Anakin sighed, waving his hand, and I nodded. “Yes, Uncle Alistair,” I said. Then, glancing at Anakin again, I added, “I’m much better than Anakin.” Screenshot-11

“Hey!” Anakin protested loudly. “That’s not true!”

“Anakin, higher numbers mean you lose,” I replied.

My twin stuck out his tongue, and I giggled. Anakin was a sore loser, but he was never mean about it.

Screenshot-12

“Lose, shmose,” Anakin muttered. He let out a loud grunt as he cradled the large ball to his chest and waddled towards the bowling lane.

Screenshot-17

I copied him, balancing precariously on my new pretty sandals (a gift from Aunt Lane). I was glad that we were at the bowling alley so early, for it meant that no one else was here. I liked being alone with my family — it was more peaceful that way. Screenshot-18

“SCORE!” Anakin and I bellowed. We high-fived each other as the last of the pins clattered to the ground.

Uncle Alistair laughed, but I caught something sad in his eyes as he looked at me and Anakin. Before I could ask why he looked so wistful, he marched up to the lane with a bowling ball of his own. Screenshot-20

“Okay,” I heard Uncle Alistair whisper to himself. He looked like he was taking this very, very seriously. I wondered if he and Mom had ever bowled together. They were twins, after all — just like me and Anakin.

Leliana and Alistair; Rey and Anakin.

No wonder he’d looked so sad before. He was probably remembering Mom. Screenshot-19

“You’re going down, Windsor!” I heard Lane jeer, and I pushed all thoughts of Mom from my mind. I was tired of crying about Mom and Dad. I had to be happy so Aunt Lane and Uncle Alistair wouldn’t worry about me. Screenshot-22

Uncle Alistair, it seemed, took Aunt Lane’s words to heart, and we all giggled at the sight of our uncle sprawled on the ground. Screenshot-45

Uncle Alistair soon got his revenge, though — he made sure to video tape Aunt Lane as she tried (unsuccessfully) to bowl in her long mermaid skirt.

After several matches (I beat Anakin soundly in each round), Anakin pulled us towards the row of gleaming arcade machines in the corner of the room. Screenshot-72

“Ha,” Anakin said as he booted up the center arcade machine. “They call that a tank? I could invent something much better.”

Screenshot-74

“SCORE!” I heard Aunt Lane bellow as a series of loud crashes came from her machine.

“How are you doing, Rey?” Uncle Alistair asked.

I shrugged, biting my lip, and half-heartedly pressed the center button again. Even though I tried to think about other things, I just kept going back to Mom.

“Uncle Alistair, did you ever bowl with Mom?” I asked, keeping my eyes fixed on the glowing screen. Screenshot-75

Silence. Then —

“No, your mom and I preferred to play tag,” he said. I turned, and my uncle smiled down at me sadly.

“Your mom probably would have beat me, though,” he added, his smile turning rueful. “She was very coordinated. You remind me of her.”

My breath caught. “R-really?”

He patted my hair, saying, “Yes, Rey. You and Leliana are both full of light and bravery.”

Light. I smiled weakly, hoping that he was right. I didn’t feel very brave, but Uncle Alistair knew everything. Maybe I could be brave.

I turned back to the machine, feeling considerably lighter, and began to press the button with more force.

Great job! The screen read, and I beamed.

Great job, indeed.

Screenshot-55
As a side note: lol remember these characters? I haven’t updated my other story, The Zevra, in months, and unfortunately it looks like it’ll be a while yet before the next chapter. I underestimated how difficult it would be to take photos for such a magic/action-heavy story! For now, the windsors are my top priority.

12 thoughts on “Chapter 3.05

  1. That must be tough bowling in such a skirt! What shop even solds out clothes for Lane, I didn’t see anyone wearing the same as her. It’s good that Rey tries to be brave, but she will probably never truly recover from the loss. But having such amazing aunt and uncle may do her and her brother good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, I loved this little family bonding scene! Your pictures are all so colourful, it’s great, even when the text is sad. Again, poor Rey. Lane and Alistair seem fantastic though, so at least they aren’t lacking in parental figures.
    Oh, by the way, I noticed you mentioned you’re writing a heavy magic/action based story. The original version of my legacy on here, and the quest, are quite action/magic heavy so maybe I can help if you’re looking for poses or something?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I have an entire pose directory haha so I have some magic and fighting ones that I can amass links to, I’ve also got some that I posted about recently, and I know there are magic photoshop filters to help with effects? (I haven’t used them yet, but I could ask my friends what they’ve used if you’d like). If you need something really particular and can’t find any poses, and have a good reference picture, I could always make the pose for you?

        Liked by 1 person

          1. So these are most of the fighting/magic poses I have:
            http://landofwoe.simvalley-realestate.com/SetDec/setdec_poses_01.php
            http://modthesims.info/m/2527802 (death, Fantasy and chuck norris pose packs)
            http://modthesims.info/browse.php?gs=0&u=39789&f=519 (Bully, colour of night/ninja, a bad night)
            http://cloudwalkernz.blogspot.co.uk/ (worth a scroll through, also has weapons and guns)
            http://mysims3poses.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/poses-set-13-fight-by-psycho.html
            http://mysims3poses.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/poses-no1-fight-poses-by-happyme77.html
            http://clarissesims3.blogspot.co.uk/ (Captive and Capoera)
            http://modthesims.info/d/506773

            http://mysims3poses.blogspot.co.uk/2012/11/magic-poses-by-597694.html

            And I BELIEVE this is where you can get photoshop brushes from if you have photoshop? Things like picmonkey or other online editing sites may have some functions for this too: https://www.brusheezy.com/brushes/17286-magic-light

            And finally as I said, I have some fighting poses that I posted about recently on my blog. If you find anything from a show or anime you want to recreate, they make really good reference pictures so you can screencap/save it and pass it along to me if you need something special!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment