Chapter 3.20

appaloosa high; 4:01 pm

screenshot-94

“Rey?”

I looked up, standing shakily (my limbs were stiff from sitting for so long), and swiped at my face. At least I’d stopped crying. “Anakin? What are you doing in the girls’ bathroom?”

screenshot-100

He looked at me sadly, saying, “You didn’t show up at home and you weren’t at the ranch…I doubled back to school and, well, you hide here when you’re upset.”

His eyes narrowed as he focused on the scratches lining my arms and face. “Rey! What happened?”

screenshot-97

“Uh, an altercation with a rabid raccoon. Weird, huh?” I chuckled, the lie foreign in my mouth. I’d never lied to Anakin before, but I hoped he’d buy it. I didn’t want him to get hurt for me…or for him to be the victim of the same abuse. For some reason, Maisie and her crew tolerated him. I didn’t want him to be on her bad side as well.

Bully or not, Maisie had a point — her family was powerful, and one bad word from the Brown family would be enough to ruin his chances at getting a decent college recommendation letter. No teacher at Appaloosa High would risk giving him a good letter — not when the Brown family paid for a luxurious teacher’s lounge and other amenities. screenshot-101

“Plumbob,” Anakin seethed, his eyes darkening. “This has gone too far.”

“What–?”

Before I could finish my question, however, my twin had left, slamming the bathroom door shut behind him. Fearing the worst (when Anakin was angry, he was prone to do reckless things), I hurried after my brother. screenshot-105

I found him in the hallway.

“You bitch,” he spat, jabbing his finger in Maisie’s direction. “At first I felt sorry for you, but now I see that you’re mean because you’re a sorry, pathetic bully. You enjoy hurting others, Maisie, and that? That’s the saddest thing I’ve ever seen.” screenshot-106

Behind Anakin, I rubbed at my head awkwardly. I hated confrontations, and I felt utterly helpless.

“Um, Ana-” I began.

“But out, Beanpole!” Annie said, shoving me.

“Fuck off, Annie!” Anakin returned immediately, stepping between us. He glared at Maisie, saying simply, “Bullies don’t win, Maisie. You ought to know.”screenshot-108

Maisie, who looked distinctly red, spluttered, saying, “Whatever, loser. If you want to hang out with your freak sister and her freak friends, fine. We’re done.”

“We never were,” Anakin said, and Maisie blanched.

Annie stepped forward, her hand going to her bag again, but Maisie gripped her arm tightly. “Let’s go,” she said, her voice sounding oddly choked.

“But-” Annie protested.

Let’s go,” Maisie said, and they ran. screenshot-109

“Plumbob,” he snarled as they ran away. “I don’t know how I dated her for so long. She’s rotten to the core.”

“You – you didn’t have to do that,” I said. “Anakin, it’s not that I don’t appreciate it, but she – she’ll ruin your chances for university.” screenshot-111

To my surprise, he pulled me into a tight hug.

“Screw university. I’m always here for you, Rey,” he said, his voice intent. “Always.”

I sniffed, pressing my damp face against his shoulder.

4 thoughts on “Chapter 3.20

Leave a comment